Each year the College holds a Prizegiving celebration to acknowledge the achievement of students during the past academic year. Traditionally this involves awards for Achievement, Effort and Service.

A number of special awards are also presented to selected students for their efforts and commitment in activities that go beyond the normal school day. These special awards have originated from past staff and friends of the college.


Mary Furlong Award (for Performing Arts)

This prize is awarded in honour of Mary Furlong.
She was a pupil at Notre Dame Collegiate School from 1931 until 1938. In 1938 she was awarded a Senior City Scholarship BSc.
Mary returned to the school as a teacher in 1942 and devoted her life to the service of the community of Notre Dame Collegiate School until her retirement in 1981.
Mary was a skilled needlewoman and she created and embroidered the beautiful wall hanging of Our Lady that is in the entrance hall.






Lori Benson Award (for dedication to College life)

Lori attended Notre Dame from September 1995 until March 1999, when she tragically died of Meningitis.
She led by example and was a constant support to her fellow classmates and members of staff.
Lori was a loyal, committed and enthusiastic member of the Notre Dame community.
She will be remembered as a true leader; a very special young person. Lori is remembered fondly by all who knew her.








Michelle Fleming Award

Michelle Fleming Award (for commitment to extracurricular activities)

Michelle was a successful and conscientious student at Notre Dame from September 1994 until December 1997, when she tragically died of Meningitis.
She took part and excelled in all aspects of college life, including the Duke of Edinburgh Award, and was an inspiration to all her friends, family and peers. Michelle is remembered fondly by all who knew her.









Kelly King Award (for good Citizenship)

Kelly was an ‘ideal’ student at Notre Dame, hardworking and conscientious, from September 1993 until January 1998, when she tragically died of Meningitis.
She was respected by the staff and her peers for her kindness and generosity of spirit.
Kelly is remembered fondly by all who knew her.











Sister Jean McDonough Award (for service to the Community)

Sister Jean McDonough was Chaplain here at Notre Dame from September 1997 until August 2002.
She is now an active member of the Governing Body, having been appointed by the Notre Dame Trustees as a Foundation Governor, and serves on a number of committees.










Margaret Bryce-Smith Scholarship Award

This prize is awarded, on the recommendation of the headteacher, to further the education of students attending any secondary school in the city of Liverpool.













Father Peter Sibert Award

Father Peter Sibert Award

Father Peter Sibert was ordained in June 1965. As parish priest at Our Lady’s Eldon Street he was very committed to the local community and supported schools in the area.
Father Peter felt his Mass each week at Notre Dame was special. He also enjoyed other aspects of the college especially the performances.
A community award in his name is most fitting.










Mrs Morgan Science Award

Mrs Morgan taught Botany at Notre Dame Collegiate School. This award is given to the most successful science student in Sixth Form.
Past students remembered Mrs Morgan with fondness remarking on her ‘sense of humour’.












Angela Bennett Award for Best GCSE Results

Angela Bennett was the most successful student in her year group in 1981, gaining top grades in all her subjects. Tragically she lost her life before she was able to fulfil her ambition to study sciences in the Sixth Form. Her family initiated this award in her memory.
Each year the student in Year 11 who has achieved the most outstanding GCSE results receives this award.









Sister Mary Ann Duhan ‘A’ Level Award

Sister Mary Ann was Chair of Governors at the time of Catholic Re-organisation in Liverpool [1982-1983] and worked along with Sister Eileen Kelleher to ensure that the change in the composition and status of the school happened in the smoothest way possible. This was a difficult time as it involved several schools merging to form a new High School. Sister Mary Ann was Chaplain at Notre Dame from 1983 until she retired a second time after a distinguished career as a headteacher at St Hilda’s (before its amalgamation with St Augustine’s) and later Tutor of Divinity at Notre Dame College (Mount Pleasant). She took a personal interest in the college maintaining strong links with staff and students here until her death at the age of 92 in 2011.


Spirit of St Julie Award

This prize is awarded in honour of Marie Rose Julie Billiart, Foundress of the Sisters of Notre Dame De Namur
Saint Julie was canonised by Pope Paul VI in 1969. Julie, together with Francoise and Catherine, consecrated herself to God ‘in the person of the poor ones of Jesus Christ’ and promised to dedicate her life to the education of young girls especially the poor.
This vision has now been extended to both girls and boys who enrol at Notre Dame Catholic College.






Sister Doctor Eileen Kelleher OBE Award for Service

Sister Eileen was Headteacher at Notre Dame Everton Valley from 1978 until 1993. She dedicated her life to the education of young people.
In 1953 she joined the Congregation of the Sisters of Notre Dame and taught in schools in London and Leeds before returning to Liverpool where she was Headteacher of three schools over a period of twenty five years.
Sister Eileen was awarded an honorary doctorate for her outstanding work as Pro-Chancellor and Chairperson of Liverpool Hope Governing Council.




Headteacher's Award

The Headteacher’s Award